University of North Dakota School of Law

University of North Dakota School of Law

Founded in 1899, the School of Law was the first professional school to begin operation within the University of North Dakota. Guy H. Corliss, a Grand Forks lawyer and the first Chief Justice of the North Dakota Supreme Court, was selected as the first dean of the law school. The only full-time instructor during the early years of the program, John E. Blair, a Harvard Law graduate, served as the secretary of the law school and directed the curriculum and operations. In 1904, when Andrew Bruce accepted the deanship, admission standards were lowered to require only two years of high school; nearly all students passed their courses and enrollment grew.


215 Centennial Dr Stop 9003, Grand Forks, ND 58202


Contact Details

Main Phone Number 701.777.2104
Share This